Twitter reverses changes on blocking rules - Piranha Digital

Start Your Project with Piranha Today: Call 01772 888331

Twitter reverses changes on blocking rules

By piranha

13th December 2013

Yesterday, Twitter announced changes to how users could block other users. Today, less than 24 hours after the changes were made, Twitter has reverted back to the old rules, following an outcry.

Originally, if a user was blocked from an account, it meant that they could no longer follow or have any interaction with that account, however, under the new rules released yesterday, the blocked user was able continue to follow the account, interacting with the user and seeing tweets.

In a blogbost, Twitters vice-president of product said “We have decided to reverse the change after receiving feedback from many users – we never want to introduce features at the cost of users feeling less safe,”

Mr Sippey said that the initial decision by Twitter to change how the blocking system works was brought about in a bid to prevent abuse. He claimed that blocked users would often retaliate against being blocked, resulting in increased bullying. The belief was that if a user did not know that they had been blocked, then the retaliation would not be instigated.

Mr Sippey went on to say “some users worry just as much about post-blocking retaliation as they do about pre-blocking abuse” he added that Twitter “will continue to explore features designed to protect users from abuse and prevent retaliation”.

  • share

Have You
Read these?